National Poetry Month: 10/30: “The Last Subject of the Day” (A Phrase Acrostic)

Daddy Room 407

Laura Purdie Salas stopped by the blog by way of comment to tell us about a technique much like the “strike line” which she calls the “prhase acrostic.” Instead of striking against a word to end a line, one begins with a word in the phrase to strike into a line. I liked this idea, so I thought we would play with it a little today.

We are 1/3 finished with National Poetry Month. Twenty days remain. Three weeks. What could you still share within that three weeks if you looked at that same three weeks as–say–a third of a marking period. What else have we given a third of a marking period to this year?

When I think of it in these terms, the introduction and sharing of poetry becomes even more important to me for our students in Room 407. In poetry, we find ourselves, what’s inside. We get to talk about “me” a little bit. Here’s a poem by Lee Bennett Hopkins that talks about this subject a little bit:

“School Talk”

 

We talk

about

science–

black holes in space.

 

We talk

about

people–

the whole human race.

 

We talk about

sand castles, sea gulls,

the sea–

 

When

can we

talk about

my

being

me?

 

I think Lee’s last question would make a nice phrase accrostic. Let’s play:

 

“The Last Subject of the Day”

 

When the last bell of the day rings at 3

can I finally, finally make a point?

We have done the day’s work  in due time–

talk, talk, talking away, you’ve been,

 

about the books, the battles, and the business.

My, but we have been busy, busy bees.

Bee-ing (giggle) as we are, can we MEntion

me? Well, I. . .RING!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *