National Poetry Month: 14/30: “The Nothing-To-Do-Day Drawer” (Part II)

image

 

Yesterday, we explored the cinquain format for our poem introducing the idea of the nothing-to-do-day drawer. Today, I thought we would try a “crown cinquain” wherein five stanzas of the cinquain approach come together to make one poem.

 

Wooden

yellow pencils,

waiting to do their work,

drawing shapes or writing stories,

today.

 

Paper,

white, blue-lined,

a flat and sturdy mat.

Maybe I will write a poem

for Dad.

 

Buttons,

round mysteries,

in a little tin box

I wonder where this one came from?

Old coat?

 

Brushes–

painting today?

I flick hairy bristles

and I  think blue, green, and brown thoughts:

world.

 

Old Maid,

in a worn box,

waiting for one more game,

another chance to make a match,

lonely.

 

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Month: 14/30: “The Nothing-To-Do-Day Drawer” (Part II)

  1. You have captured the essence of a simpler time. I fear today’s rainy day drawer, but with some ingenuity it could be enriching. I am liking how you are building a cinquain story. Never heard Crown Cinquain” before.
    ps
    Got zees lair for my anti-spam…love it.

  2. Paul,
    We actually had one of these drawers at our house. As a little girl, I loved playing there. It seems like ours always had a box of watercolor paints in it. I love revisiting that time through your poems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *