For September 11th: “Baring the Weight” by Paul W. Hankins (2007)

To the reader: This is a piece I wrote in 2007 in response to the striking image from Time magazine of Tiernach Cassidy’s back tattoo. 

WTC Tattoo

Photograph © 2003 Jonathan Hyman

It took New York firefighter, Tiernach Cassidy nine months with a tattoo artist to render the World Trade Center attacks. Covering his back are the attack itself, flanked by two angels, one of which carries the names of Cassidy’s fallen partners. I became aware of this powerful image when Cassidy was featured in Time magazine.

“Baring the Weight”  by Paul W. Hankins

I wear the hours –                    upon my back;

What was ours –                      upon my back;

I wear the towers upon my back.


I wear the hate –                      upon my back;

I wear the date –                      upon my back;

I carry their fate upon my back.


I wear debris that pours –        upon my back;

The “what’s in store?” –          upon my back;

I carry their horror upon my back.


I wear the beams –                   upon my back;

Your hopes and dreams –        upon my back;

I carry their screams upon my back.


I wear the sky –                       upon my back;

I wear the “why?” –                 upon my back;

I carry their names that died upon my back.


I wear the ash –                       upon my back;

I carry the crash upon my back.


I wear the loss –                       upon my back;

I bare this cross upon my back –


The cross I bear upon my back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *