National Poetry Month: 11/30: “Opening Night”

image

 

Oklahoma! opens at Highland Hills Middle School tonight. Noah is Andrew Carnes and Maddie will appear in a few numbers as a feature singer and dancer. They have heard–a hundred times by now–that I was in Oklahoma! as a sophomore at Boyne City High School.

I thought we would have some fun with the idea of opening night.

 

“Opening Night”

 

It’s opening night; set’s in place.

I’ve got makeup on my face.

Here’s what few in the seats would know;

It’s not always easy for guys in a show.

 

Eye-liner, lipstick, a little pancake.

How much more can a  poor guy take?

Here’s something–right now–that I need to know:

Will I have to go out with family after the show?

 

It’s fun to act like someone who’s not my age,

but this makeup is only meant for the stage.

What will my girlfriend think when I see her?

Hey, dude, do you mind if I borrow your mirror?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *